#JacksonFamily Interviews ft. Camden Pulkinen

Jackson Ultima
3 min readFeb 16, 2017

--

Camden represented USA at the Youth Olympic Games 2016

The #JacksonFamily is a large family of skaters wearing Jackson product. Whether it be Matrix Blades, Ultima Blades, Jackson Skates or GAM Skates, skaters are encouraged to tag #JacksonFamily in their social posts and be a part of the largest skating family, from recreational to elite! Innovation, Development and most importantly FUN are the core fundamentals of #JacksonFamily.

In our interview series, we wanted to go behind the scenes and talk with some of our international competitors to get to know them a little bit better!

Today’s interview features Camden Pulkinen, from Colorado Springs, CO. He is a Junior Men’s competitor, coached by Tom Z. Camden most recently placed 2nd at the US Championships and was named first runner up to the Junior Worlds Team! Let’s get to know the man behind #PulkiNation!

Tell us a bit about yourself, where you came from, how long you’ve been skating, training grounds, etc.

Hi! I am Camden Pulkinen, the reigning U.S Junior Silver Medalist and Team USA member! I am currently training in Colorado Springs with my coach, Tom Zakrajsek. I originate from Scottsdale, Arizona and moved to The Springs last June. I have been skating for 11 years now and I love it! I’m am so thankful for all the support and the opportunity to share part of my life with through this interview!

Of course, thanks for letting us get to know you better! So Camden, what’s been the biggest obstacle you’ve had to overcome this past season?

The biggest obstacle for me this past season was improving my artistry. I feel like I have vastly grown! I hope to continue to improve upon my artistry on the ice in this coming season.

That being said, what’s been your greatest accomplishment during the 2016 season?

My biggest accomplishment was learning the Triple Axel and demonstrating a mastery of the element at Nationals. The triple axel is such a difficult element to master and it is even harder to complete the jump under pressure. Although I felt like it came fairly easy to me, it took me a little bit of time until I had the right mindset going into the 3A in competition. I started to treat the 3A like it was any other jump, and I started to land them in competition.

That’s huge to have the 3A in your repertoire! I remember the day you landed a few clean at Glacier Falls! So you mentioned the competition mindset, take us through a typical competition day for you.

Depending on when I compete, a competition day is almost like any other skating day. Usually I do not eat too much before I compete, but I make sure I always have some fuel. I do a little bit of yoga and some dynamic stretches before my 20 minute warm up. Then, before I compete, I stretch, roll out, and complete some off ice jumps. When it is time to compete, I trust my training and act like it is practice. After all, every competition is just training for the next!

Very true, well said! So what are some of your hobbies outside of skating? There’s got to be a lot to do in the Springs.

My hobbies outside of skating include ballet, contemporary dance, and ping pong. I really enjoy all these activities! This past year I have grown to have a passion for dance outside of skating and it seems to help in all aspects of skating!

⚡️Lightning Round⚡️

Favorite Restaurant: Noodles & Company

Favorite Animal: Dogs

Favorite Jump: Triple Axel

Favorite Place You’ve Competed: Lillehammer, Norway

Figure Skating’s Class Clown: Ryan Bradley

What does #JacksonFamily mean to you?

To me, #JacksonFamily is a movement. It is a movement to unite all of the Jackson Equipment wearers as one! It doesn’t matter if one is competitive, recreational, a coach, or a show skater! We all are in Jacksons and we are a family!

Camden’s Equipment: Elite Supreme Boots | Matrix Freestyle Blades

Follow Camden on: Instagram & Twitter

--

--

Jackson Ultima

Jackson | Ultima | Matrix - The Figure Skating Company