#JacksonFamily Interviews ft Ashley Cain

Jackson Ultima
5 min readFeb 22, 2017

--

Ashley Cain — FSC of New York

The #JacksonFamily is a large family of skaters wearing Jackson product. Whether it be Matrix Blades, Ultima Blades, Jackson Skates or GAM Skates, skaters are encouraged to tag #JacksonFamily in their social posts and be a part of the largest skating family, from recreational to elite! Innovation, Development and most importantly FUN are the core fundamentals of #JacksonFamily.

In our interview series, we wanted to go behind the scenes and talk with some of our international competitors to get to know them a little bit better!

Today’s interview features Ashley Cain, from Dallas, TX. She is a Senior Pairs competitor with Timothy Leduc. They most recently placed 3rd at US Nationals and earned a trip to Four Continents & the 1st Alternate spot on the Worlds team! All in the short 8 months they’ve been paired up!

Ashley, you have had a whirlwind of a year! Starting off with a new partnership to competing at Four Continents! Tell us a little about yourself.

The first time I skated I was 2 years old and it was on the Rideau Canal in Canada. I started competing when I was 4 years old. I am 21 now and I have been a part of Team USA since 2008. I am coached by both of my parents at the Dr Pepper Star Center in Dallas, Texas. My mother, Darlene Cain, competed nationally and internationally for Canada and my father, Peter Cain, competed in the 1980 Olympics in pairs for Australia.

My partner Timothy LeDuc and I have skated together for about 8 months now. In 8 months we have been to three international events, medaled at the Golden Spin in Zagreb, Croatia, won the Bronze medal at the US Championships, earned a spot on the Four Continents team, and were named as first alternates for the World Championships!

I earned the gold medal in Novice pairs in 2010 and the gold medal in Junior pairs in 2011. I also earned the silver medal in Novice Ladies in 2010 and the silver medal in Junior Ladies in 2012. I have a brother, Brenden Cain, who is 22 and plays college hockey in New Hampshire.

What are your hobbies outside of skating?

I love anything to do with health and fitness. I like creating workouts for myself at the gym, going to farmers markets, and studying health and wellness books. My boyfriends family has a ranch so on the weekends I like to go out there and ride dirt bikes and four wheelers. I love paddle boarding, hiking, playing with my puppy, cooking, interior design, v-logging, eating, and fashion.

Ashley’s Puppy Mylo at US Nationals

Take us through a typical competition day for you? Do you have any rituals?

I always eat pasta the night before I compete and I try to go to bed as early as possible or at least be in my bed resting for a while before I actually go to sleep.

We will normally have a 20 minute or 35 minute warm up in the morning depending on the competition. After that I always go back to the hotel and take a nap for at least 30 minutes. I find that this allows my mind to rest and not think about what I have to do. When I am doing my hair and makeup for competition I always watch YouTube videos.

Then, I pack up all of my stuff and head to the rink. Sometimes the rink is walking distance and sometimes we have to take a bus. On the bus ride or the walk I will eat a banana and a fig bar. I also drink green tea with honey, lemon, and turmeric during practice and competition. When I get to the rink I change into my costume and then go meet Timothy to go through our 30 minute off ice warm up. Then, I go put on my skates and while I’m doing that I always listen to music to block out all the noise from around me and to get in tune with my body.

After that, it is time to compete!

You have accomplished so much with Tim this season. What’s been your biggest obstacle in or outside of skating?

Time! Timothy and I are such a new team so time is always needed. Every competition that we have been to we have been able to improve on our scores, elements, and placements. Having the three international assignments has really pushed us to progress quickly because we wanted to be competitive internationally. We have goals and we set out to achieve them every single day. We love what we are doing and even when we face challenges and obstacles we know that we wouldn’t want to be doing anything else. We are doing this for a reason, because we love it.

What can we look forward to from Ashley & Tim in 2017–18?

The 2017–18 season is going to be very exciting because it is the Olympic season! We have all of the technical elements so now it’s about putting more power to them, speed in and out of them, and developing fluidity and ease. We want to expand our lift positions and create new lines and positions within them. We are also looking to work on our movement on the ice and create a look that is similar to ice dancing. We are hoping for more positive international experience and top 2 at Nationals.

⚡️Lightning Round ⚡️

Window or Aisle Seat: I’m torn on this one! I like the window because I can look out and see the ground or the clouds and that has a calming effect on me. I like the aisle because I can get up to go to the bathroom without disturbing anyone and I can stretch my long legs out.

Favorite Restaurant(s): Black Walnut Cafe and Sushi Axiom

Skating Idol(s): Michelle Kwan and Aliona Savchenko

Coffee or Tea: Coffee in the morning, I drink it black or bulletproof style. Tea at night or in the afternoon, preferably green tea

What does #JacksonFamily mean to you:

The support of the #JacksonFamily is incredible. Anything I need, they are just a phone call or text away. It’s great to be working with a company that always wants the best for you and will help you in any way possible so that you can be at your best. Thank you #JacksonFamily for being so amazing!

Ashley Cain’s Equipment: Elite Supreme 5500U Boots

Follow Ashley on: Instagram & Twitter

--

--

Jackson Ultima

Jackson | Ultima | Matrix - The Figure Skating Company